Does it matter how close my origin (Sydney, AU) is to my USA Cloudflare nameservers on FREE plan in AUS (doesn't use Aussie PoPs)?

nameservers
wordpress
argo

I noticed Coudflare servers on free tier in Australia are actually hosted on the West coast of the USA. https://medium.com/@SimonEast/the-declining-value-of-cloudflare-in-australia-6588910e4781 (I tested it myself too using visual trace routes and pings tell the story.).

Hmm, I guess it’s more of a question of where Cloudflare’s nearest Datacenter (for caching static content and fetching dynamic content from the origin) is located instead of namesevers.

I’ve never really given it this much thought till now and I’ve been using Cloudflare since 2012. I knew Cloudflare free wasn’t using Australia PoPs for some time now though.

I get:
Name Server: DUKE.NS.CLOUDFLARE.COM
Name Server: REZA.NS.CLOUDFLARE.COM

pings range from 147.747ms-300ms. (For basic websites, the perceived speed difference isn’t that noticeable though between 30ms and 300ms, but I guess it all adds up - I’ve found poorly written theme code is usually much more slower and hence why I’ve recently bought a new theme that loads under 1.2 seconds).

Any way, I was reading up on railgun (I’m not using it) and it made me think would it help if my origin was located on the west coast of the USA instead (via Google Cloud Platform).

Since users hit CF edges nodes instead?

My understanding is that Cloudflare’s edge nodes still communicate with the server for dynamically changing content like php files in WordPress for each new request, but since Cloudflare’s nameservers are in the USA unless I go with the Pro plan which uses Sydney PoPs. :thinking:

Any ideas? Couldn’t find much on Google about this. I usually keep my origins in Sydney. It would be faster when dealing with the initial setup with raw IP address access to the origin I guess. I might give the Pro plan a shot.

Shocking (no pun intended) how Railgun is Business+ plans only.

0 Likes