Does cloudflare cache only images or the webpages themselves?

Hi,

What are the exact steps to make sure that cloudflare only cashing images and not the webpages themselves? (beacause they are dynamic)
Please put into consideration that I am not an expert! :slight_smile:

Cloudflare caches by file extension, and unless you configure it differently HTML is not included in there

2 Likes

You meant that cloudflare doesn’t cashe webpages by default?!
How can I determine the extension that I need it to be cashed?
I just need PNG images to be cashed on my website

You’d specify that via page rules. One to enable caching for PNG files and a second one to disable it for everything else (assuming that is what you want).

Yes! that’s exactly what I really want :slight_smile: sorry for bothering you but if you could tell me what exactly to do (exact steps) in page rules in order to do that I’d be grateful becasue I’m not expert at all! thanks in advance.

Check out https://support.cloudflare.com/hc/en-us/articles/218411427-Understanding-and-Configuring-Cloudflare-Page-Rules-Page-Rules-Tutorial-

Should you have any issues, post screenshots of your page rules here and we go from there. Also, refer to my earlier explanation of how they need to be set up.

1 Like

OK now I added one page rule --> Cashe Level —> bypass – to prevent cloudflare from cashing everything
now what should I do to make clouldflare cashe PNG or images ?

Thats the second rule, you still the need the first one, which actually caches the PNG files. Also, dont specify the protocol, right now it will only apply to HTTP requests but will skip HTTPS.

you meant a seperated page rule right? so I shouldn’t add a setting but adding a new page rule am I right?

Yes, you need to rules. #1 to cache PNG files, #2 to skip everything else (what you already configured). And make sure they are in their right order too (hence #1 and #2).

1 Like

Alright I got it I really do appreciate your help!