DNS Zone managed by wrong host (SiteGround) & Unable to Access Record to Change

{redacted}
Aug 11, 2021, 3:53 PM PDT

Hello,

I switched my hosting from SiteGround to Kinsta. I am in need of verifying Cloudfare on MyKinsta. However, according to my Dash (Screenshot 1), “Your DNS Zone File is hosted by Siteground, a Cloudfare partner. Manage your DNS Records at their website.”

image

However, when I contacted them, they said my account, including DNS & Cloudfare, were deleted permanently so I have no way of logging into their and changing anything from there. They recommended contacting you guys for support. I have attached screen shots of the conversation to help paint the picture.

SiteGround Convo Pt 1
SiteGround Convo Pt 3
SiteGround Convo Pt 2
SiteGround Convo Pt4
SiteGround Convo Pt5

Essentially, I’d like the domain removed from Cloudfare so I can then get it integrated over with Kinsta. Would this be possible please? Let me know if you need any more information!

Best,
Nick {redacted}

@MoreHelp

Have you already reached out to Cloudflare’s support? If so, can you share the ticket number with us?

Yes: [#2228840] (Cloudflare Help Center)

I was directed to the community forums and told after 72 hours to reply @ More Help if I did not get the help I needed – after 100+ hours there hasn’t been a reply so here we are!

Hi @ntraicoff,

What are you trying to do with Kinsta? Your nameservers currently point to AWS so that’s where your DNS is hosted.

Are you trying to set your domain up on Cloudflare directly? If so, just remove the site on the bottom right of your domain overview page. Then click Add Site at the top and you should get a fresh setup with Cloudflare and be able to change your nameservers to use Cloudflare DNS.

OK so if I click that “Remove Domain” button, will that remove us from this SiteGround hosting:

And then allow us to reintegrate through Kinsta?

Yes, removing your site should break the current partner connection and allow you to sign up directly with Cloudflare. If you want to sigh up through a different partner, it can take a bit of time for the zone to be purged, but it depends on the setup.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 15 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.