DDoS Protection needs to be improved

Hey there

I want to give feedback about the DDoS Protection.

First of all, I’m a web developer from germany and lots of my customers are relying on Cloudflare. In general it works pretty well, cdn caches and the uptime is always fine.

But if we talk about DDoS and attackers who have high-end botnets, the protection is really useless. Those people knows exactly how to bypass Cloudflare in any way.

Customers settings:

1. Cloudflare DDoS Protection is activated
  2. under attack mode is on
  3. Lots of countries are blocked from where the DDoS comes from
  4. Captcha / JS Challenge is active for everyone (firewall settings)

As far as I can see on my hosting, Cloudflare IP’s are coming through and ddosing the backend server. It’s like Cloudflare doesn’t even exist. There are also lots of paid services to bypass the hcaptcha and bots can pass. Or you can hire a ddos office in india with 100 real humans, who solves captcha 24/7. If a bot client waits up to 5 seconds, the js challenge will be gone, same for a solved captcha. And after that you have practically an open door for l7 attacks.

Cloudflare should add a captcha which cannot be bypassed. Automatic reactivation of human verification if e.g 10 requests per second came in (without having a paid rate-limiting activated). Other providers already have this rate-limiting like ovh or blazingfast for free and without any required configuration. I know that there are blind people who needs a “bypass” because they cannot solve the captcha. But it would be enough if Cloudflare adds a second captcha mode, where a bypass is not possible and that the website owner could decide between the captchas.

For very bad and dump ddos attacks, Cloudflare may work. But if someone really wants to take you down, it’s no problem if you have Cloudflare.

In the end Cloudflare is ddosing you:

If that was possible, someone would be a billionaire just for creating it.