DDoS attack still stopping website from loading - Is there something else I can try?

Hi,

I ended up adding in my Plesk Firewall two rules, the first is Deny incoming from all on all ports and the second rule was Allow incoming from Cloudflare IPs. I then rebooted my server and it seemed to be working at first but then the DDoS attacks crashed my website again. I ended up enabling Under Attack Mode but when I try to access my website after Cloudflare tries Checking your browser before accessing… I get redirected to the “Error 522 (Connection timed out)” page.

I’m new to using Cloudflare but I was under the impression that it protects against DDoS attacks, is there anything else I can try to get my website loading again.

The only traffic coming to my website should be coming from Cloudflare since I denied all other IPs in the Plesk Firewall so I’m not sure why my website isn’t loading.

Thank you!

Have a look at Responding to DDoS attacks – Cloudflare Help Center and Under DDoS Attack! First steps - Tutorial - Cloudflare Community.

If your origin IP has been leaked, which from your other posts it has as you weren’t always using Cloudflare, I’d change the IP(s) of my origin… being careful not to leak the new IP(s) via gray-clouds, etc. And ensure that the server is only accepting Cloudflare traffic, preferably, at your host’s network-level before even reaching your server.

Even if you’ve blocked other IPs, the network could get flooded, depending on the size of the attack and such if they know the origin IP(s). Cloudflare can certainly help to mitigate traffic that passes through its network but can do nothing for direct-to-origin attacks though.

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply!

Yeah, I’ll double check to make sure my server is only accepting Cloudflare traffic to my current server IP address.