Connecting SSL to Origin Host cPanel

origin

Continuing the discussion from Error with origin certificates:

I have tried connecting my CloudFlare certificate to my host using both of these methods (as many ways as I could think of).

Any ideas on getting this working? I would really appreciate some insight.

Also, can anyone tell me how long it usually takes for SSL settings get updated to the front end of the site?

(Please excuse my terminology, I am still learning!)

Is your host using cPanel? If so, not all hosts let their users muck around with SSL certificates.

Is this a shared server where you don’t have root access? Root access is the only other way to install a certificate if your web server admin panel doesn’t provide a way.

SSL on Cloudflare usually gets issued within an hour for previously verified sites. Otherwise, within 24 hours. If your SSL Status still isn’t Active after a day, open up a Support ticket.
https://support.cloudflare.com/hc/en-us/requests

Yes, my host is using cPanel.

I have a SSL/TLS option under Security in the cPanel. I do believe it is a shared server, though I do have this access.

It is just that the uploader through the cPanel doesn’t have as many options as the uploader shown in that first link.

So, should I actually be waiting at least an hour to try and upload the certificate information after I create an Origin Certificate?

Try: Generate Key/CSR. SAVE THOSE!

Take that CSR and go to the Cloudflare Crypto page and select “I have my own key and CSR” Then copy/paste your CSR into the CSR field. It should generate the Certificate for you. SAVE THIS!

Now in cPanel, past in YOUR Private Key and CSR from the first step (these might already be filled in after Step 1), and paste in the Certificate you got from Cloudflare.

I will try it this way again!

It was actually one of the first ways that I tried.

I’ll update this page when I am done.