CName still not Propogating still pointing to old site

I am moving my website from shopify to another host and was instructed to set up a Cloudflare account. All the changes I made to my DNS propagated within an hour until I changed the nameservers to Cloudflare. The site now points to the old site, the CName isn’t updating and it has been nearly 48 hours. I know they say that it can take this long or longer, but this doesn’t seem right.

Whatsmydns shows the nameservers as pointing to Cloudflare, but still no resolution with the Cnames. Please advise. I’m losing business by the hour.

Hi @Dames,

If you set the records to :grey: and wait 5 minutes. does it resolve to the new site OK?

Shopify use Cloudflare and it may be that they haven’t removed your domain from their setup properly.

That seems to be… Now what do I do? Do I just leave it this way?

I’m a total novice with this…

For now, leave it :grey: so the site at least works.

Then go back to Shopify and ask them to remove their Cloudflare configuration for your domain, specifically SSL for SaaS / Custom Hostnames. Once they’ve done that, you should be OK to go back to :orange: and get the benefits of Cloudflare.

It still isn’t working. The CName records now resolved… But shopify says they don’t know anything about the cloudflare configuration and insist that the site is no longer listed with them despite the fact that it is still pointing to them after nearly 50 hours. I’m at a complete loss.

I’ve deactivated my proxy settings and that managed to resolve the fact that my CNAME records weren’t updating. But my website STILL points to the old host after over 48 hours.

When the CNAMEs are :grey:, it still shows the Shopify site and not the new one?

Can you share the domain and the instructions given by your new provider?

domain was lymphedames.co.za

. Sign up for a CloudFlare account from cloudflare.com if you do not already have one.

1. Enter your domain name then click Add site.