Cname Flattening, using the Apex Domain

Hello,
I am new to this so please bear with me, i’ve never setup a website before.

I have set cloudflare to be my DNS provider. My site is www.deep.zone. I want it to be able to work as just deep.zone. I don’t know what i need to do to configure this so that deep.zone works?

I have attached a picture of my DNS management in cloudflare. What is could be wrong and what do i need to do to fix this?

I’ve read many articles on DNS but i’ll be honest, being new i’m still a bit baffled by it all. Am doing my best to learn about it and understand it.

Thank you.

You just need to create a record for your naked domain (deep.zone or @) and point it to the machine in question. It can be either an A record or a CNAME record.

Just make sure the machine itself recognises the naked domain as well and has a proper certificate. If that is the case you are good to go.

That seems to be the exact issue. Your server neither has a certificate nor is it configured for deep.zone. It is only configured for the “www” host.

You’ll need to talk to your host about that as they have to fix that.

Alternatively you can also check out Redirect example.com to www.example.com.

Sandro,
Thanks for the quick hit back.

So I created a new record as per the attached picture. The site is hosted at Discourse, so do I need to contact them to connect my site to this new record?

Thank you and my apologies if I’m not using correct terminology here.

1 Like

Yep, that should work.

Yes, they (or you, if you can do this on their control panel) need to configure the server to respond for the naked domain and with a valid certificate.

Otherwise use the redirect approach I mentioned earlier.

Sandro,
Thanks again for your help.

One quick sanity question before I contact Discourse, if I go to DNS check website and test deep.zone it’s not propagating anywhere? Shouldn’t this be propagating even before I’ve done anything with Discourse?