Cloudflare Universal and Universal (Shared) Certificates

This post contains info on Cloudflare Universal and Universal (shared) certificates, this covers certificates issued to and

There are two types of universal certificate in use at the moment. These are Universal and Universal (Shared), I will address the differences between the two and why you have the one you do.

Universal (Shared) certificates
These look like this:
Issued to (for example), in the Subject Alternative Name, you will see a list of lots of other domains that use the same certificate. These are the ‘old’ certificates and were used before Cloudflare became a trusted CA.

Universal certificates
These look like this:
Issued to:, in the Subject Alternative Name, you will only see, and * These are the ‘new’ certificates which are issued by Cloudflare now that they are a trusted CA.

It is just a cosmetic change as far as I am aware and there is no difference in the encryption provided.

You can see the type of certificate you have in the SSL/TLS app of your Cloudflare dashboard. You should either see:


Which tells you either Universal (Shared) or Universal.

If you are looking for information on Dedicated Certificates, please see the support article here

Tutorial Reference: CT-12

Reviewed: 04/20

This is a Community Tutorial, most are wiki posts, so can be contributed to by Regulars and MVPs here. If there is a tutorial you would like to see, you can request one here.

If you would like to provide any feedback on this tutorial, please post in the #Meta category, tag your post #TutorialFeedback and let us know the Tutorial Reference above.

Other great resources on this community include the Community Tips . These address best practices when configuring Cloudflare, how to fix issues you may see, and tools to troubleshoot. Also you can view Expert Tips, great posts on the community from people in the know that may help you with your issue.

We encourage users to check out these great resources and the Cloudflare Support Centre before posting