Cloudflare speed tests keep getting worse

Hello!
After I implemented Cloudflare in early March and the speed test results were great. Then my site started loosing page rank in google and google’s speed test and GTMetrix tests seemed slow. Finally checked back with cloudflare’s speed test this weekend and it’s dismal. I didn’t change any settings in those two months. My hosting server just changed the PHP last week, but this issue has been getting worse ever since I moved to Cloudflare.
Here’s March 10’s speed test:

Here’s the May 22nd speed test:

I have tons on photos on this page (I know, I know… that makes it slow), but I haven’t changed a thing (other than asking for an increased PHP this past week) since implementing Cloudflare. Rocket Loader is on for both tests.
Getting super frustrated and wondering how to play detective. This is a totally hand built site, but I am NOT technical (which explains the baby coding). But it did speed up intitially. Any help is greatly appreciated.Thank you.

Yer killin’ us with the massive image collection. Yes, photos are your bread and butter, but that page is 32 MB of data. That’s…uh…a bit much. I got to 25 full sized images and stopped counting. Those all have to load before your page is considered “loaded”.

I suggest you whittle it down to your five best, and scale them down a bit. 1280wide and compress using something like tinyjpg.com. Each of your pages have the same issue. Other than the front page slider (with that handful of images), the other pages would be best served as a thumbnail gallery, maybe with a lightbox feature as you click on images, then the user would click through so the images load one at a time.

After that, I bet your site will be a whole lot faster.

2 Likes