Cloudflare pages custom domain stuck verifying

I’ve got a Cloudflare pages site setup, which has been using a *.pages.dev domain.

i’m trying to add a custom domain. the domain’s nameservers are already correctly pointed at Cloudflare, so that Cloudflare should be managing the DNS.

I added the custom domain under the pages dashboard area, but it’s stuck “verifying” for 24 hours or so. i tried deleting it and re-adding it, but it never seems to resolve.

i would have thought since CF was managing the DNS, it could just sort all this out for me. i have a lot of experience using netlify, and it always seems to be able to sort out custom domains, SSL certs, etc. within a few minutes.

am i doing something wrong? what steps could i take to troubleshoot or give more information that would shed light on the issue?

when i click on the “verifying” line under pages → (my site) → custom domains, it says “Log into your DNS provider” and tells me to add a CNAME, but the Name field is blank. also, i thought CF was my DNS provider, so I’m not sure why it’s asking me to do this.

definitely confused. would really appreciate any help. thanks!

have been hearing lots of good things about Cloudflare, and really wanted to try it out for a new product i’m launching, but to get so stuck on something super simple and not to get any help on the forum is pretty discouraging. so I’m giving up and heading back to netlify, where at least I know i can get a custom domain working. :confused:

Sorry to see you go. I had this happen, but it was because I already had that hostname set up with a Worker on it. Without knowing your domain name or FQDN, there’s not much else we can suggest.

i didn’t realize that knowing my FDQN would have helped, would have been glad to have posted that too. i had nothing else set up and no worker.

For anyone else who comes across this situation:

Community Tip - What to include in your post?

appreciate the replies, thanks for taking time.