CloudFlare modifying server response?

I have a website I am hooking up to an ad network. They said I need to use CF to remove/reduce bots.

I got everything hooked up and assumed it was working. Turns out either CF or the ad network is modifying traffic from the server.

My site is highly dynamic and as such uses a lot of jsonp. I should get a response from my server to the site that looks like:

jQuery19109311104061858169_1645367743876({"us

However, my response is being transformed into:

<html><head></head><body>jQuery19109311104061858169_1645367743876({&#34;us

As you can see something is encoding quotes and adding extra HTML tags. Since I am new to CF, can someone please let me know if there is a setting or something that I need to turn off in CF, or is this related to the ad network?

I have never seen Cloudflare HTML encoding anything in the body of a response.
But feel free to provide the URL where this is happening and we can have a look at it.

I am not sure why the URL is needed (but I can provide it to you). This issue has been resolved temporarily because I reverted to nameservers directly to the host. I also manually added NS DNS entries to CF (not sure if they have helped or not).

Is there ANYTHING OOTB (Out of the Box) that would alter payloads? I am venturing no but just want to confirm as my contact at the ad network is OOO right now.

Greetigns,

Thank you for asking.

May I ask, eZoic or some other?

Are these GET or POST requests?

Is maybe the Auto Minify option or Rocket Loader option enabled at Cloudflare dashboard?

Furthermore, how about security options like Bot Fight Mode or some similar?

Maybe it’s related to the URL normalization? :thinking:

See here:

Meaning, you have created NS type of DNS records with hostname/target to your old nameservers at DNS tab of Cloudflare dashboard for your domain name?

1 Like

Ezoic is the ad network.

1. Ezioc is the ad network