Cloudflare, Let's Encrypt, pfSense

Thanks for any help someone can provide.

Hi. I’m new to cloudfare. Today I switched my domain name servers to cloudflare. I have a registered domain name through no-ip.com (a payed domain — not a dynamic domain name). I’m hosting an apache website sitting behind a pfsense router. I already have Let’sEncrypt Certificates for the main domain and three subdomains. Certs are valid until 11-2019.

I’m interested in changing the acme renewal process from webroot to DNS challenge. I’m using the built in acme client on pfSense to try to perform the renewal process however I’m having problems:

[Sun Sep 29 12:38:05 CDT 2019] Multi domain='DNS:gohilton.com,DNS:www.gohilton.com,DNS:nextcloud.gohilton.com,DNS:office.gohilton.com'
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:05 CDT 2019] Getting domain auth token for each domain
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:09 CDT 2019] Getting webroot for domain='xxx.com'
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:09 CDT 2019] Getting webroot for domain='www.xxx.com'
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:09 CDT 2019] Getting webroot for domain='nextcloud.xxx.com'
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:09 CDT 2019] Getting webroot for domain='office.xxx.com'
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:09 CDT 2019] Adding txt value: ulYYV72DGxcUac6XwQTHFtnFS5QJQHhhpnDRXGwGECc for domain: _acme-challenge.xxx.com
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:10 CDT 2019] invalid domain
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:10 CDT 2019] Error add txt for domain:_acme-challenge.xxx.com
[Sun Sep 29 12:38:10 CDT 2019] Please check log file for more details: /tmp/acme/xxx_Certificates/acme_issuecert.log

I looked at the log file however it wasn’t helpful in the slightest. I’m wondering what I’m missing or if anyone could help me here with this one.

Looks like that client is acme.sh or similar.

First, let me ask: did you enable a Cloudflare plugin or otherwise enter Cloudflare API keys/API tokens? Since CF is now your DNS provider, the ACME client had to support the Cloudflare API when it needs to provision the DNS records.

Hey thanks for response