Cloudflare is detecting enterprise security product as bot

I am using a corporate Secure Web Gateway to access Internet and found out that, for many domains where Cloudflare bot management feature is enabled, a captcha is displayed or even worse some of the content of the domain (typically an external content provided by other domains protected by Cloudflare) is not at all displayed.
As far as I understood, Cloudflare is offering bot management feature to protect against traffic coming from VPN and/or proxies. This makes sense but, in this case, we are talking of an enterprise security product and not of an anonymizer. The only way to avoid it, is to bypass the company Secure Web Gateway which means that I am no more protected my company product.
Is there a way for Cloudflare to differentiate between an enterprise security product and an a proxy/vpn used to make activity untraceable?

Hi @mario.gallios82,

Can you check exactly what is blocking/challenging these requests in the firewall event log?

If it’s bot fight mode, you would have to either turn that off entirely or ask the vendor to apply to Cloudflare to be allowed:

If it’s another feature that’s blocking it, you should be able to allow it with a firewall rule.

1 Like

Cloudflare could be detecting this because the product is acting as a MITM, and the User-Agent does not match the TLS handshake. For more info, and to have your vendor submit a signature, see: https://blog.cloudflare.com/monsters-in-the-middleboxes/

1 Like

Is it sending a lot of requests? If so, that maybe why!

Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately I cannot do such check since I am not the owner of the domain and this issue is affecting several domains.