Cloudflare and Strato DNS

Hi Community,

I am new at Cloudflare and wanted to speed up my Wordpress website. My current hosting is with Strato. I changed the NS name servers from Strato to Cloudflare to connect. Now for hours I get a 404 not found on my webshop.

So I changed back to the Strato name servers and deleted my website from Cloudflare. I still get a 404 not found page when I go to my webshop. Is there anyone who can help me?

The website is: www.meerdaneenlintje.nl.

Thank you in advance!

So your DNS is no longer using Cloudflare:

$ dig www.meerdaneenlintje.nl +short
meerdaneenlintje.nl.

But if I run a HTTP request:

$ curl -svo /dev/null https://www.meerdaneenlintje.nl/
> GET / HTTP/2
> Host: www.meerdaneenlintje.nl
> user-agent: curl/7.77.0
> accept: */*
>
< HTTP/2 200
< date: Sun, 06 Mar 2022 16:57:44 GMT
< content-type: text/html
< vary: x-forwarded-for,User-Agent
< cf-cache-status: DYNAMIC
< report-to: {"endpoints":[{"url":"https:\/\/a.nel.cloudflare.com\/report\/v3?s=pVkcuMilcY0%2B46KZTMwTxxxv0ibN3TyWWzanhnPlINoPudv3yv%2FtvPXwK%2FJiESCVV6ZNuxrKruZrTVJWkJ9ep%2BtOlomSO%2FOG0iTEjVwLbHkGfc5jItyA06enW2%2FL%2FIxhKzqOCo4X2OQTYA%3D%3D"}],"group":"cf-nel","max_age":604800}
< nel: {"success_fraction":0,"report_to":"cf-nel","max_age":604800}
< server: Apache/2.4.52 (Unix)
< cf-ray: 6e7ca1d3cff46967-FRA
< alt-svc: h3=":443"; ma=86400, h3-29=":443"; ma=86400
<
{ [4545 bytes data]
* Connection #0 to host www.meerdaneenlintje.nl left intact

We can see some Cloudflare headers such as cf-ray and cf-cache-status among others, but this repsonse is coming from your origin server < server: Apache/2.4.52 (Unix). That tells us that your origin server is somehow proxying traffic back to Cloudflare behind the scenes.

The best way to fix this is to check with your hosts and double check the configuration of your origin - it is sending traffic back via Cloudflare and not respecting public DNS. It may be the server has a stale DNS cache.