Cloudflare 520 Error Misery

Hello,

I’m hopeful some kind soul on here can very kindly assist with a problem that has me tearing my hair out…

I’ve been using Cloudflare for 5+ years without issue - however, the past couple of months we’ve been plagued with regular 520 Errors.

I followed the Cloudflare troubleshooting guide

We’re on a dedicated server/our long-term host inform: “There are no logs that suggest that the web server crashes, and the headers all look normal. Running some tests on my end, I was not able to find anything out of the ordinary”

3+ weeks ago I submitted the requested information (cf-ray/ HAR files etc) to Cloudflare support but they’ve yet to respond - they regularly suggest to post in the community so here I am.

Some visitors don’t experience an issue, but a significant number - including myself, do. Sometimes a device cache clear can offer temporary relief and regain access but shortly afterwards you hit constant 520 errors again.

With Cloudflare ‘Paused’, the issue doesn’t occur.

The issue occurs across both - I currently have Cloudflare paused.

Any help would be hugely appreciated

Thanks.

Unfortunately, I dont seem able to share links to things like a YouTube video showing the issue, or to our website but it’s grand old team dot com.

This is in all likelihood an origin server issue. Still, if you’re on a paid Cloudflare plan, you can visit Dashboard > Analytics & Logs and filter by origin status code to see if that gives you some insight about what factors may be at play. Also, visit your Account’s Audit Log to see if there were changes immediately prior to the issue arising.