Clarification on Custom Nameservers for many domains

Hello, I am new to Cloudflare and would like to ask the community for help regarding how custom nameservers work. (The Business plan “support” basically just referred me here).

Specifically, my situation is that I host about 300 client websites who currently have their domains connected to my server via the following two [example] custom nameservers:

NS1.EXAMPLE.COM
NS2.EXAMPLE.COM

Additionally, for most of these clients I have custom DNS records set up at the server level (MX, DKIM, DMARC, SPF, TXT, etc.).

I can see how to create these custom nameservers in my Cloudflare account. I also know how to “glue” them to Cloudflare’s IP addresses at my domain registrar.

My questions are:

• Once I add these two custom nameservers to my Cloudflare business account and “glue” them, will all 300 client sites routing through these nameservers automatically start routing through Cloudflare and have all the Cloudflare benefits?

• If so, will all these sites’ existing server-level DNS records be preserved? (MX, DKIM, DMARC, SPF, TXT, etc.)?

• If not, is there any way to set this up through Cloudflare without having to update the NS records for all 300 websites (which would be a monumental effort). I could potentially re-set-up all the other client DNS records, but logging in to hundreds of clients’ GoDaddy accounts is not happening.

Thank you.

Custom nameservers are only necessary if you want your domain to use nameservers under that very domain (typical glue). You don’t need custom nameservers to set up other domains and have them use your own nameservers.

Just make sure the DNS entries are not proxied and that should work fine.

If you want to use Cloudflare’s nameservers, you don’t need custom nameservers either but rather Custom hostnames · Cloudflare for Platforms docs.