Certbot: dns_cloudflare_email: command not found

Hi

I’m fairly new to LetsEncrypt and I’m trying to build a certificate generation function to provide a cert for my Palo Alto firewall using the Certbot command with not much luck.

I have a VM running Debian to use for this and I’ve installed the following:

openssl
pan-python
certbot
certbot-dns-cloudflare

I’ve generated an API token on Cloudflare and created a.cloudflare.ini file containing my email address (Email associated with my Cloudflare account) and the global key in this format:

dns_cloudflare_email = [email address]
dns_cloudflare_api_key = [global api key]

I’ve run this to add the creds of my firewall

panxapi.py -h [Management IP of my PAN firewall] -l [firewall username]:’[firewall password]’ -k >> ~/.panrc

However, when I try to run the initial configuration using Certbot…

/home/[my local user]/.cloudflare.ini -d *.[my debian vm hostname].local --preferred-challenges dns-01

I get this error:

/home/aled/ .cloudflare.ini: line 1: dns_cloudflare_email: command not found
/home/aled/ .cloudflare.ini: line 2: dns_cloudflare_api_key: command not found

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance

Aled

You seem to be trying to execute the configuration file instead of the certbot executable and it then tries to execute the configuration parameters in it. That can’t work. You need to pass the configuration file as argument to the executable. Welcome to certbot-dns-cloudflare’s documentation! — certbot-dns-cloudflare 0 documentation has more.

Though, this is not strictly a Cloudflare related question, so https://community.letsencrypt.org would be a better place for details.

1 Like

Thanks for the speedy response Sandro

Should it look more like this:

cloudflare-credentials /home/[my local user]/.cloudflare.ini -d *.[my debian vm hostname].local --preferred-challenges dns-01

When I run that it gives me this error:

bash: cloudflare-credentials: command not found