CDN and Cache-Control headers

Hi, let me just say that I’m new to the whole cloudflare thing, so apologies if this is not a question I should be asking in here.

I’ve been playing with Cache-Control headers for an API that returns JSON. I have managed to set up a PageRule and requesting the same resource multiple times seems to only go to cloudflare and return with the same data :smile:
and after 4 mins when a new call is made, it goes to my API and that value is cached.

So everything seems fine and perfect, but here is my issue (it may not be an issue, it might be just how it works):

1. I make a call to the URL on my desktop (I get a response and subsequent calls get the same response)
  2. I use the same URL on my mobile (connected via 4G), but I don’t get the same response as from step 1. (however this call seems to cache the data it received and I’ll get the same response for the next 4 mins).

I was expecting the cached data received by my desktop to be the same thing I’d get on my mobile, is this not how it works?

I hope this makes some sort of sense.

Thanks

If you’re not getting the exact same data from both calls the most likely cause is the calls are somehow different.

It’s also possible that your phone and desktop are connecting to different POPs as we maintain our cache on a per POP basis. If you turn off cellular and use just wifi you can force your phone over the same connection as your desktop which should eliminate the different POP option.

In your logs do the calls appear identical?

Hi,

not sure what a POP is but if I use my WiFi network for my phone and PC I get the same response. On my desktop I can see the headers say cf-cache-status:HIT after first using the API on my phone. As soon as I go back to 4G connection I get a different response.

So guess I am getting a different POP rather than the requests being slightly different.