Cannot get access to domain

I am a website developer working for a company that has a domain registered through Cloudflare. The domain was registered 8 years ago and they do not know the email address used to register it.

We have tried the Forgot My Email link to no avail.

I have read a lot of posts saying that the only solution is to open a new Cloudflare account and point the domain to the new account and add the DNS records. The DNS records are not a problem, however, since Cloudflare is both the domain registrar AND the DNS host, that is not a viable option.

The business owners have said they spent over two hours on the phone with Cloudflare and were unable to get any help. I am wondering how best to advise them, and if there is any sort of domain recovery process.

Please share the number they called, I am curious to know with whom they spoke.

Cloudflare Registrar was not an option 8 years ago. What is the name of the domain?

We’ll do as best we can here and ensure our Support team is engaged, but let’s start from the domain name.

2 Likes

The domain is therocketmodel dot com.

I will get more information about the number they called and try to nail down the timing. It looks like Cloudflare began registering in February of 2016? Which is almost 8 years ago?

Thanks so much for your response and any advice you can give.

1 Like

The domain was registered in 2012, but nameservers only went to Cloudflare in 2022 according to various DNS history sites (and aligns with the WHOIS last change). Perhaps that timeline will help them locate any relevant emails or payment records until support can get back to you.

https://completedns.com/dns-history/

https://cf.sjr.org.uk/tools/check?cf9359b2171f48fe8f1ff1dc3aa197c5#whois

2 Likes

How did I not know this DNS history site existed??? I’m definitely adding this to my toolbox and will see if this lines up with anything on their end.

Thanks!!

2 Likes