Can you use KV to improve cache hit rates?

I’m just getting started with Workers and I’ve been pondering how I could use it to improve cache hit rates beyond what I’d get with Cache Everything, Argo Tiered Caching, and far future Cache-Control headers, i.e. max-age= 31536000. I’ve already seen some discussion about using KV for caching including the Edge Cache HTML example, but I wanted to validate a few things.

Are my assumptions here valid?

In a pre-Worker world, I’ve had a few issues:

1. It’s unclear how long stuff stays in the Cloudflare cache generally speaking; if I ask Cloudflare to cache for a year, I doubt it will happen always, but I haven’t tried to measure
  2. Even with Argo Tiered Caching, the cache hit rate doesn’t seem as high as it could be
  3. Without Enterprise, there’s no way to partially clear the cache e.g. with tags

Solutions and questions:

1. With KV, I control how long stuff is cached, so eviction shouldn’t be an issue
  2. Using KV as a cache should give me nearly 100% hit rate on subsequent requests
  3. With KV, could I cache items in namespaces to simulate tags? Would it work to delete an entire namespace, and recreate it to delete everything in it - effectively resetting my KV namespace used as a cache?

A. Besides cost and the 2 MB limit for KV, is there any downside to using it for caching instead of the Cache API?
B. If I was using the Cache API, and I have Argo Routing on, would I benefit from tiered caching, or does that only work with fetch?

Ultimately, I’m trying to weigh if I should be using fetch, the Cache API, KV, or some combination of these for the best performance. I’ve read the documentation around these already, but wanted to see if there’s anything I’m missing.

Thanks!