Can someone please explain this

Hi, sorry if this sounds like a stupid question. I am trying to understand cloudflare and my hosting package. I am trying to understand the point of me paying £70 for a hosting package when i am using cloudflare. My url is now pointing to cloudflare instead of my hosting package as per cloudflare instructions.

So, i am trying to understand what my hosting package is now providing and what i am paying for when everything points to cloudflare.

sorry for the stupid question but i am not very technical

Cloudflare acts as a proxy (intermediary) between your origin server (the server your hosting provider assigned to you) and your website visitors. That’s why you changed your DNS to point to Cloudflare nameservers, so that when visitors click on a link to your website they are sent to Cloudflare servers. Cloudflare will then fetch the content from your origin server, and place it temporarily in cache so that next visitors get a faster experience.

If your stop paying your hosting provider, Cloudflare won’t be able to find your content to pass on to your website visitors.

Having said that, one of the advantages of having Cloudflare as a proxy, beyond the security and optimization features it offers, is that you may perhaps go by with a cheaper hosting plan, as adding Cloudflare means the origin server will be less requested, saving your server bandwidth, CPU utilization etc.

Thank you so much for that. That explains everything. I think i will also look at reducing my hosting cost. One thing i have noticed since changing my nameserves, is my email no longer works so i will need to look into that. thank you very much for the explanation

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 24 hours after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.