Can only use SiteGround's POP3 server off-SSL, want SSL

Hey everyone,

My final step in being fully set up in Cloudflare is being able to connect to my SiteGround account’s POP3 server through SSL. It was working before the switch, so it’s just correcting what needs to be corrected.

I followed this tutorial which appears to have the solution I need but it doesn’t appear to be working for me.

This is how my records look like:

Over at Siteground, my records look like this (again, just following the tutorial):

But here’s where it gets strange. I am able to connect to the non-SSL version just fine, but not the SSL version.
settings

It’s okay with mail.domain.com off SSL but if I try it with SSL, it won’t work (SSL error), but then if I try domain.com with SSL, I get a connection timed out. I’m sure this is likely an extremely easy fix but I’m fairly new to this and probably exhausted all the articles/information I could find on Google.

How do I get SSL POP3 to work? And which domain do I use? domain.com or mail.domain.com?

Any help would be appreciated, and thank you in advance!

(I’m not using Cloudflare through SiteGround’s host partner program, but completely independently.)

mail.sabe.io points to sabe.io, which is now a Cloudflare server. Cloudflare doesn’t proxy email, so your DNS entry for mail.sabe.io should point to the actual IP address of your server and still be set to :grey:.

Hey @sdayman,

Thanks for responding.

I’ve added two DNS entries (not sure which one was needed) for mail.sabe.io as suggested but am still unable to authenticate. I’m also still a little unclear which domain I should use for my POP server, mail.sabe.io or sabe.io, since SiteGround is saying to use sabe.io but from your comment, it appears I should be using mail.sabe.io.