Best Practice To Block IP?

I am trying to block 3 IP addresses (crawlers/bots) from bombarding my site. Should I create three different rules, or can I add each of the IP addresses to ONE rule using “or” ?

You could certainly block all 3 in 1 rule. I personally tend to use IP Access Rules for the ability to add a comment (course I may also randomly create rules multiple times a day for demos so my use cases are a bit different than most). :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks for the quick response - I’m a newbie to this. I have also noticed there are IP Access rules. Which is better?

I can create an IP Access rule in Tools and apply it to all websites. Is this a better option vs. creating individual Firewall rules?

What is the difference between a Firewall rule and an Access rule?

Thanks for your help.

Additionally, since I’m using CloudFlare is blocking these IP addresses here adequate? Or should I also block them in my server/cpanel?

And thus begins anew a debate which has no end. :slight_smile: IP Access Rules are, I guess for lack of a better term, “dumb” firewall rules. They have three unique features currently (one, you mentioned is the ability to apply the rule to all your websites, the ability to add comments which I mentioned and the other is whitelisting).

Over time the whitelisting functionality is being incorporated into individual firewall rules in a slightly different manner, which will potentially make it more powerful. Commenting in firewall rules… is uh, something the firewall team is aware of as a feature request… no idea when it will make an appearance. Applying a firewall rule to all zones in the UI probably won’t be a thing anytime soon (though one can do it via script or automation tools where it makes sense).