Any Success of using Cloudflare Spectrum with SMTP port?

I’m not really an expert in handling email solutions, so I would like to see if I can get someone who is an expert in SMTP or other email-related stuff, particularly with experience configuring Cloudflare Spectrum with SMTP port.

https://developers.cloudflare.com/spectrum/reference/configuration-options/#smtp

From my understanding, protecting SMTP port with Cloudflare Spectrum sounds feasible but with some caveats, particularly with the issue of information mismatch when performing forward DNS lookup and reverse DNS lookup. For example, messages from your server may be rejected if an MX record for your domain is associated with a Spectrum application, as the IP address of server will not match the Spectrum IP address.

With these restrictions in place, how can you solve these issues to make SMTP work with Cloudflare Spectrum? Anyone is having success doing this?

I guess @cscharff would be happy to help out.

Are you talking about SMTP in the context of receiving emails and MX records or in the context of sending emails yourself? Right now I could not think of a use case for the latter.

1 Like

Frankly speaking I don’t really understand this part, actually that sentence was copied from the Cloudflare Developers documentation in that link.

Well, sending won’t work as you will still need an MSA to actually receive the email and forward it. You certainly could configure this on your end and point to your origin SMTP server, but - as mentioned - I couldn’t think of a use case where that would be useful, unless you assume your own users are possibly abusing your SMTP server for denial-of-service fun, but then it’s probably rather a social issue than a technical one :slight_smile: