Adding additional `www` CNAME to the root doesn't work

Hello there! I am fairly new to Cloudflare. So, the other day, i have managed to deploy a react app on Cloudflare; Yayyy! However, i am having trouble configuring a new CNAME record whose value is the usual www to point to the root, which is in my case wiseai.dev. In other words, i want www to behave as the root. But, as you may have guessed, it didn’t work.

So, my initial guess was: “maybe it is caused by the CNAME flattening rule”. To test this hypostasis, I think we should allocate a dummy ip address and create an A record for wiseai.dev with that ip. And then generate a CNAME to point to root. This will remove the use of the CNAME flattening rule from the equation. Though i didn’t try this solution, however, what i did try is to keep the CNAME flattening rule there:

The target of the first record is the url where the build is located(the edge?); there is nothing special here. Interestingly, if we apply a permanent redirect page rule to this domain, as shown in the image below(in the following reply), it will make it work.

I believe that it is not the right solution, as it will generate unnecessary traffic.

< HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently
< Date: Tue, 19 Jul 2022 09:21:04 GMT
< Cache-Control: max-age=3600
< Expires: Tue, 19 Jul 2022 10:21:04 GMT
< Location: https://wiseai.dev/

Back to the initial solution, how can i get the ipv4 and v6 for the app deployed on the Cloudflare network? Do you think it will work if we allocate A and AAAA records for these ips? If so, how to do it, cause i need the ip’s, is it random?

Note that i cannot allocate a www CNAME record on the DNS provider i am currently using; it can only be managed on Cloudflare.

I hope you get what i am trying to accomplish — looking forward to your response.

Regards.

Screenshot from 2022-07-19 11-42-24

I feel like i am doing spaghetti networking.

When you say you deployed “on Cloudflare”, do you mean Cloudflare Pages?