A dramatic drop in google speed rating

Hello,

I am new to Cloudflare and new to website building as a whole.

I have been trying all day to increase the speed of my website which is the reason of getting cloudflare.
Since activating cloudflare i have noticed a reduction in my google speed rating from 70 down to 11! I mean, i don’t know websites too well, but i know that this is a massive drop??

I was thinking of just deactivating cloudflare altogether, but i thought i would at least speak out the question, in case it was a simple error on my part…

I have changed the nameserver correctly and i have attached the API key to my hummingbird plugin on wordpress.

Can anyone please advice me where i have gone wrong or what has happened?

I have noticed that my desktop rating is still at 91, so it seems to only be the mobile performance that has drastically reduced…

Many thanks,

Hi,
I’m not a moderator nor an admin but just trying to give a hand of help.
What’s your website?

Try analyzing with Google Chrome Lighthouse test and see what your results are and how to improve.

Here are some helpful tools:

1 Like

Might want to read these 2 threads

1 Like

I have tried to go through these but tbh, it all really confuses me!

I have attempted to go through everything i can to increase the performance but my grade is still ridiculously poor!
The only thing that i have seen since adding cloudflare is a decrease is states rather than an increase… google stats

My predominate traffic comes from mobile users, so this is not great…

I don’t really know what to do…

1 Like

Hello,

I am new to website building and new to cloudflare. I have heard a few good things about cloudflare, however, i do believe i must be doing something wrong!

Since installing cloudflare and hummingbird on to my website, my website performance has decreased??
It makes no sense… Surely the point of these plugins is not only security, but performance on the website itself also?