50 / 50 Cache MISS and HIT - Why?

Hi!

I am new to Cloudflare and decided to give it a try as my customers are in the Nordics and my server in the US. (Causing my site to be very slow) After setting up Cloudflare my site is eiter really fast (1 sec - JAY!) or really slow (23 sec) By looking at the details in the webpagespeedtest it is clear that in approx 50 % of the cases it states “cf-cache-HIT” under all response headers/requests (and logically good scores) but in 50 % of the cases it states “cf-cache-MISS” and hence bad speed scores etc. So I guess I am wondering if anyone else have experienced this and know what I have done wrong in the setup? (or if it is some other problem…) I have used the standard cache setup for WP and have added one Cache all / Browser cache ttl 6 months rule…

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Kind Regards
Janne

Hard to tell at first glance, however, here are some protips to take into account:

1. To properly measure CF effectiveness you need to warm up the CDN ( What is Cache Warming? | Section ). A website with low visitor count or freshly setup will have “abnormal” results like the one you are mentioning.
  2. CF has a lot of PoPs. and while that’s good, it might result in a higher miss count, make sure you have tiered caching enabled to reduce this.
  3. Benchmarking must be done over a prolonged timespan, better/worse results in 1 session aren’t enough to diagnose the speedup or downgrade that CF has to offer.

Thus being said, a 22-second difference seems way too much.
I’d check the backend to see what’s going on behind the scenes because it’s unlikely that the delay is just caused by CF not having an asset cached.

1 Like