15 second delay from one data center

Hi, I’m looking for guidance on how to troubleshoot poor performance from one data center.

I’ve been using Cloudflare for a few months, but about six days ago I noticed the site was sometimes hanging for 15 seconds before delivering content. In investigating this, it only happens when the cf-ray indicates the SJC data center is being used.

There were two specific files that would occasionally show up with cf-cache-status: ‘STALE’ in these cases of delays. This happened very intermittently, but after a few clicks on my site I could trigger it.

After much research, I couldn’t figure out how to solve this, but I ended up increasing the max-age for these files to something very large. That greatly reduced the number of STALE instances. However, the site still occasionally hangs for 15 seconds when being accessed from SJC. Through chrome developer tools I can see that it now happens to be the main php script that is shown as hanging for 15 seconds.

After researching similar issues, I understand the issue is probably with my server, but the IP’s that appear with the delayed requests do not appear in either my access logs nor my firewall logs. In addition, I have whitelisted the offending IP’s in my firewall with no improvement in performance.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to further troubleshoot this? To be clear, the delays do not occur every time the routing is through SJC, maybe 5-10% of the time. But it occurs 0% of the time any other data center is used. I have been pleased with Cloudflare and am kind of bummed I might have to drop it due to this one issue.

What levels of traffic are you seeing(how many requests in a time period do you see), and what is the Cache-Control header (and other Cloudflare related cache settings for this URL?)

If you run the following command, can you share the output (redact anything sensitive, and replace the variables as necessary for your site)